ESG Strategy & Reporting

Because investors are not only concerned about the future on Fridays.

The increasing importance of ESG in private equity is being driven particularly by the sharp rise in demand on the part of investors. Sustainability, social responsibility and good corporate governance are now no longer niche topics but fundamental elements of each private equity value creation programme. To offer investors satisfactory solutions, fund managers have to develop ESG strategies that are effective, efficient and economical while ensuring maximum possible transparency.

Why is there no way around ESG any longer?

Global pressure on the part of investors is driving demand for sustainable investment options

In recent years, investors' increased awareness of sustainability, ethical standards, social responsibility and good corporate governance has led to unprecedented demand for ESG-oriented investment options. Since around 2005, the volume of assets managed in private equity funds committed to ESG has increased more than tenfold. During the same period, the number of UNPRI signatories surpassed the 3,000 mark.

Increased expectations of workers, customers and society and their willingness to share responsibility

The megatrend of ESG is being driven by a growing awareness of environmental risks, social and demographic changes and political challenges of the future, as well as people's willingness to take part in resolving them.
A company that is unable to offer a clear approach to the challenge of ESG will not only be exposed to risks but will also miss out on opportunities to access new markets, be innovative and grow.

Sustainable investments perform better in the long term

Although financial performance is not always the primary motivation of an impact investor, the positive influence of sustainability on economic success has already been demonstrated multiple times. The outperformance of STOXX Global ESG Leaders Index compared to STOXX Global 1800, for example, clearly illustrates this effect. In addition, the ESG factor not only offers a premium compared to classic investments but also significant protection by limiting the downside risk in a crisis.

How do you successfully master the challenge of ESG?

Disclosing the ESG KPIs in the fund's annual report is not sufficient to achieve an effect on its own. The collection of KPIs and the acquisition of accreditations solely for reporting and marketing purposes typically lead to what is called greenwashing - a frequent mistake and misunderstanding.

ESG necessitates long-term commitment in the context of value creation. A foundation consisting of clearly defined values and principles is required to establish a strong ESG strategy for the fund.

 

How can we help?

The complexity of the challenge of ESG is due, firstly, to its extensive sphere of influence - essentially, each area of the organisation, all stakeholders and externals are affected by the goals of a fund's ESG strategy. This necessitates a strong commitment to the defined principles, corresponding incentive models for decision-makers and effective public communication. Secondly, it involves the details - the establishment of a KPI system appropriate to the goals, the monitoring of the right areas of a business and the definition of reasonable goals that are to be achieved. Ultimately, the disclosure of figures alone does not yet lead to increased performance. Measures have to be put in place to implement the fund's ESG strategy, achieve an effect and realise the value, the ESG premium.

base camp is experienced in cooperating with private equity funds. We will help your PE fund to integrate ESG throughout the entire life cycle of its investments.

Define the right ESG strategy for your fund together with us in order to achieve the following:

  • A clear ESG strategy and a principle-based framework for the entire fund that is based on international standards in order to benchmark your ESG performance against the industry
  • Successful implementation of the fund's ESG strategy to maximise your investments' value creation
  • Full transparency regarding ESG KPIs that are genuinely important and satisfy your investors' need for information

Contact us right now to find out more about what we have to offer!

ESG Strategy & Reporting

Weil es Investoren nicht nur freitags um die Zukunft geht.

Die zunehmende Bedeutung von ESG in Private Equity ist vor allem vom rasant gestiegenen Bedarf seitens Investoren getrieben. Nachhaltigkeit, soziale Verantwortung und gute Corporate Governance sind mittlerweile keine Nischenthemen mehr, sondern Grundbestandteile eines jeden Private Equity Value Creation Programms. Um den Investoren zufriedenstellende Lösungen anzubieten, müssen Fondsmanager ESG Strategien entwickeln, die wirkungsvoll, effizient sowie wirtschaftlich sind und dabei die höchstmögliche Transparenz sicherstellen.

Warum führt kein Weg mehr an ESG vorbei?

Globaler Druck seitens Investoren treibt den Bedarf an nachhaltigen Investitionsmöglichkeiten

Das gestiegene Bewusstsein der Investoren für Nachhaltigkeit, ethische Standards, soziale Verantwortung und gute Corporate Governance hat in den letzten Jahren eine beispiellose Nachfrage nach ESG-orientierten Anlagemöglichkeiten geschaffen. Seit Mitte der 2000er Jahre hat sich das Volumen des verwalteten Vermögens in ESG-engagierten Private-Equity-Fonds mehr als verzehnfacht. Im gleichen Zeitraum hat die Anzahl der UNPRI-Unterzeichner bereits 3000 überschritten.

Erhöhte Erwartungen der Arbeitskräfte, Kunden und der Gesellschaft und ihre Bereitschaft Verantwortung mitzutragen

Der Megatrend ESG wird sowohl durch die wachsende Wahrnehmung der Umweltrisiken, der sozialen und demografischen Veränderungen und der politischen Herausforderungen der Zukunft als auch durch die Bereitschaft der Menschen, sich an deren Lösung zu beteiligen, getrieben.
Ein Unternehmen, welches nicht in der Lage ist, einen klaren Lösungsansatz für die ESG-Herausforderung zu bieten, wird nicht nur den Risiken ausgesetzt sein, sondern verpasst auch die Chancen, neue Märkte zu erschließen, innovativ zu sein und zu wachsen.

Nachhaltige Anlagen schneiden langfristig besser ab

Obwohl die finanzielle Performance nicht immer die primäre Motivation eines Impact-Investors darstellt, wurde der positive Einfluss von Nachhaltigkeit auf den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg bereits mehrfach nachgewiesen. Beispielsweise die Überperformance von STOXX Global ESG Leaders Index gegenüber STOXX Global 1800 lässt den Effekt gut darstellen. Außerdem bietet der ESG Faktor nicht nur eine Prämie gegenüber klassischen Anlagen, sondern auch einen signifikanten Schutz durch Bergrenzung des Abwärtsrisikos in der Krise.

Wie meistert man die ESG Herausforderung erfolgreich?

Die Offenlegung der ESG-Kennzahlen in dem Jahresbericht des Fonds allein reicht nicht aus, um eine Wirkung zu erzielen. Erhebung von KPIs und Erwerb von Akkreditierungen nur für Berichterstattung und Marketingzwecke führt typischerweise zum sogenannten Greenwashing - ein häufiger Fehler und Missverständnis.

ESG erfordert ein langfristiges Engagement im Rahmen der Value Creation. Um eine starke ESG-Strategie für den Fonds aufzubauen, ist ein Fundament aus klar definierten Werten und Prinzipien notwendig.

Wie können wir helfen?

Die Komplexität der ESG-Herausforderung liegt zum einen in ihrem riesigen Einflussbereich - im Grunde ist jeder Bereich der Organisation, alle Stakeholder sowie Externe von den Zielen der ESG-Strategie eines Fonds betroffen. Das erfordert eine starke Bekenntnis zu den festgelegten Prinzipien, entsprechende Anreizmodelle für Entscheidungsträger sowie eine effektive öffentliche Kommunikation.

Auf der anderen Seite geht es um die Details - die Einrichtung eines zu den Zielen passenden KPI-Systems, die Überwachung der richtigen Geschäftsbereiche und die Definition von vernünftigen Zielen, die angestrebt werden. Schließlich führt die Offenlegung der Zahlen allein noch nicht zur Leistungssteigerung. Es müssen Maßnahmen ergriffen werden, um die ESG-Strategie des Fonds umzusetzen, Wirkung zu erzielen und den Wert, die ESG-Prämie, zu realisieren.

base camp ist erfahren in der Zusammenarbeit mit Private-Equity-Fonds. Wir helfen Ihrem PE-Fonds, ESG in den gesamten Lebenszyklus der Investitionen zu integrieren.

Definieren Sie mit uns die richtige ESG-Strategie für Ihren Fonds, um Folgendes zu erreichen:

  • Eine klare ESG-Strategie und ein prinzipienbasiertes Framework für den ganzen Fonds, welches auf internationalen Standards basiert, um Ihre ESG Performance mit der Branche zu vergleichen
  • Eine erfolgreiche Umsetzung der Fonds-ESG-Strategie, um die Wertschöpfung Ihrer Investitionen zu maximieren
  • Volle Transparenz über ESG-Kennzahlen, die wirklich wichtig sind und den Informationsbedarf Ihrer Investoren befriedigen

Nehmen Sie jetzt Kontakt auf, um mehr über unser Angebot zu erfahren!